THE WHITE HOUSE, Office of Communications


WASHINGTON, DC – On Tuesday, July 31st, the White House will honor leaders who have devoted their time and efforts to helping their communities reach new heights through transportation innovation. Transportation Innovators are individuals or organizations who have provided exemplary leadership in the growth and expansion of the transportation industry at the local, state or regional level.

 “Today’s Champions are leaders in developing and implementing innovative transportation initiatives,” said Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood. “They are making a difference every day in their local communities and across the country by improving America’s transportation infrastructure and helping their friends and neighbors get where they need to go.”


 The Champions of Change program was created as a part of President Obama’s Winning the Future initiative. Each week, a different sector is highlighted and groups of Champions, ranging from educators to entrepreneurs to community leaders, are recognized for the work they are doing to serve and strengthen their communities.

To watch this event live, visit at 11:00 am ET on July 31st.

Veronica O. Davis, P.E. is the co-owner and Principal Planning Manager at Nspiregreen LLC. She is a transportation guru who uses her knowledge to spark progressive social change in the community. She has been innovative in founding a women’s biking group, implementing an annual transportation summit for her community, and participating on the Citizens Advisory Council for the Transportation Planning Board for the DC region. She lives in Washington, DC.